Zimbabwe vs India

Zimbabwe vs India 2024 T20I: New Faces, High Stakes, Drama

First T20I between Zimbabwe vs India in 2024; New Faces, High Stakes, the Controversial Exclusion of Key Players


The Indian cricket team is about to start a new chapter when they take on Zimbabwe in a five-match T20 series. The team will depend on a fresh batch of talent, led by Shubman Gill, to secure their future in the game’s shortest format with seniors like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli absent. Starting on Saturday, July 6, this series looks to be a significant test for the developing talents in India.

The Indian Squad

The Indian team for the opening two matches includes:

  • Shubman Gill (c).
  • Gaikwad Ruturaj
  • Sharma Abhishek
  • Singh Rinku
  • Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel (worker),
  • Washington Sundar
  • Bishnoi Ravi
  • Khan Avesh
  • Ahmed Khaleel
  • Kumar Mukesh
  • Deshpande Tushar
  • Sudharsan Sai
  • Jitesh Sharma 
  • Harshit Rana

A mix of IPL performances and up-and-coming artists who are keen to establish themselves on the global scene are showcased in this selection.


The Squad of Zimbabwe

Under the seasoned direction of Sikandar Raza, Zimbabwe’s team includes :

  • Sikandar Raza (c)
  • Akram Faraz
  • Bennett, Brian
  • Campbell, Jonathan
  • Tendai Chatara
  • Luke Jongwe
  • Innocent Kaia
  • Clive Madande, 
  • Madhevere, Wessly
  • Marumani Tadiwanashe
  • Wellington Masakadza
  • Brandon Mavuta
  • Blessing Muzarabani
  • Dion Myers
  • Antum Naqvi
  • Richard Ngarava
  • Milton Shumba

This seasoned team will aim to test the young Indian team and deliver special moments at home.


Match Details

The first T20 International match between Zimbabwe vs India  will take place at the Harare Sports Club, at 4:30 PM IST. With broadcasts available on Sony Sports Ten 3 (Hindi) SD and HD, Sony Sports Ten 4 (Tamil or Telugu), and Sony Sports Ten 5 SD and HD, Indian fans may watch the action live on Sony Sports Network. 

Catch all the live action of this match for free on Winexch. Sign up now and watch Live cricket score highlights


Key Players to Watch 

Zimbabwe vs India first T20 International looks to be an entertaining match featuring a combination of youthful potential and seasoned players. Key players to watch out for are as follows:



Shubman Gill (c): As the team’s leader, Gill’s form and direction will be essential. You can count on him to lead the inning and offer steadiness at the top.

Ruturaj Gaikwad: Known for his reliable approach and impressive IPL outings, Gaikwad will try to convert his domestic success into runs scored in the international arena.

Abhishek Sharma: Sharma’s versatility as a spinner and aggressive batsman will be a great asset.

Rinku Singh: Rinku is a powerful finisher, and his short runs might be very important in the middle and last overs.

Ravi Bishnoi: The youthful leg-spinner has a reputation for collecting wickets. In dismantling relationships and managing the middle overs, he will be crucial.

Avesh Khan: A quick-witted, aggressive fast bowler, Khan will be counted on to spearhead the bowling attack and take early wickets.



Captain Sikandar Raza: As the more seasoned player, Raza’s versatility will be essential. His ability to bowl frugal overs and steady the innings can make all the difference in the match.

Tendai Chatara: Chatara is an experienced spinner whose knowledge would be crucial in restricting the Indian batsmen and taking crucial wickets.

Blessing Muzarabani: Muzarabani can be a threat because of his height and quickness, particularly during the powerplay and death overs.

Wessly Madhevere: Madhevere is a young player with promise whose aggressive batting can give Zimbabwe an early advantage and turn the tide.


Match prediction

In the opening T20 International, India is likely to have an edge over Zimbabwe. The dynamic potential of players like Ruturaj Gaikwad and Rinku Singh, along with Shubman Gill‘s leadership, could be pivotal. Despite their expertise, Zimbabwe might not be able to match the youthful zeal and skill of the Indian team. Expect a closely fought encounter, with India likely coming out on top if the young guns perform as expected.

Controversies Surrounding Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer’s Exclusion

There has been a lot of discussion on social media about Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer’s absence from the Indian team. Cricket fans and analysts both are confused by these two talented players’ omission as they have both demonstrated enormous potential and have recently become essential members of the team.

Known for his explosive batting and versatility, Ishan Kishan has proven to be a reliable player in both international and T20 tournaments. His elimination calls into doubt the team management’s future goals and the selection method.

On the other hand, Shreyas Iyer has proven to be a stable middle-order batsman who has often brought consistency to the Indian batting order. His absence is even more puzzling in light of his background and accomplishments from the previous series.

It will be intriguing to watch how these young players perform and whether they can secure spots on the national squad as the series progresses. In addition to providing a stage for individual excellence, this series versus Zimbabwe is an important first step towards ensuring the success of Indian cricket in the future.



  1. Where can I watch the live T20I series between Zimbabwe vs India?

The series, which includes Sony Sports Ten 3 (Hindi) SD and HD, Sony Sports Ten 4 (Tamil or Telugu), and Sony Sports Ten 5 SD and HD, will air on the Sony Sports Network. The Sony Liv app and website offer live streaming.


  1. Who is captaining India in the T20 International series versus Zimbabwe?

The Indian team’s captain for the first two games of the series is Shubman Gill.


  1. Why are Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma absent from the Indian team?

To evaluate fresh players and control workload, team management decided to rest Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma during this series.


  1. What is the controversy regarding the exclusion of Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan?

On social media, users have been debating the elimination of Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer, with many wondering why two skilled and seasoned players were left out.


  1. Which new players are included in the Indian team for the series?

Dhruv Jurel, Riyan Parag, Sai Sudharsan, and Harshit Rana are a few of the new faces in the Indian team; they will all likely make their debuts on the international scene during the series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *